Lewiston’s Simon Bissell wins the season-ending King of the Hill at Ransomville Speedway | Sports


Lewiston’s Simon Bissell picked up his first career victory in the Mateo Hope Street Stock King of the Hill on Friday night, highlighting the action at Ransomville Speedway.

Also on the card, Mat Williamson of St. Catharines, Ont., won his eighth Krown Undercoating Modified feature of the season in the Big Block/Small Block Shootout. Ransomville’s Brett Senek won his fourth feature of the season in Investor’s Service Sportsman/Kevin’s Carpet Cleaning Novice Sportsman Shootout. Cheektowaga’s Ryan Plante picked up his third Sunflowers of Sanborn Mini Stock win of the season. Ransomville’s Cole Susice won his third division title.

Jesse Cotriss and Chad Brachmann were in the top Big Block/Small Block Shootout for the Modifieds, with Brachmann taking the lead at the end of the first lap. Williamson would take second from Cotriss on lap three and chase Brachmann for the lead. Ryan Susice and Garrison Krentz would three wide with Cotriss for third, with Susice moving to third and Krentz to fourth. Krentz would then move into third after passing Susice on lap nine.

Tony Pangrazio and John Smith came together straight away in the lead to get the warning out on lap 12. On the restart, Brachmann, Williamson and Susice were all drifting away from the field. Williamson would take the lead from Brachmann on lap 17 and wouldn’t look back as he rode out for another victory.

Senek and Kyle Richner were in the front row for the Sportsman/Novice Shootout, with Senek taking the lead. Sam Hoxie made hard contact with the wall from turn one to bring out the opening warning. Senek would start in the lead, with Cameron Tuttle battling with Richner for second at the start.

Luke Blose spun into turn four to bring out the warning on lap three. The ensuing restart would see Senek in the lead with Tuttle, Dave DiPietro, Derek Wagner and Richner in the top five. DiPietro would take second place with Wagner in third.

Wagner would take second on lap seven as Senek began to pull away from the field. Senek will claim his fourth win of the season ahead of Wagner, DiPietro, Tuttle and Richner.

Dennis Cummings and Ken Camidge led the field to the green flag for the Mateo Hope Street Stock King of the Hill, with Camidge leading the way. Bissell would move into second and go after Camidge for the lead. Dan Schulz would move up to third after a fifth-lap restart. Brandon Sherwood would take second on lap eight and go after Bissell for the lead.

After a restart on lap 11, Bissell would lead Sherwood, Schulz, Camidge and Damian Long. Bissell would continue to lead, but Sherwood would start to bring him back. Over the final 10 laps, Sherwood would continue to pressure Bissell for the lead, and with seven laps to go, spin into the first corner. He could keep running. Bissell would go on to score the win, holding off Schulz and Sherwood.

Dave Dussault and Jeffrey Wynes were front row in the Sanborn Mini Stocks Sunflowers championship event of the season, with Dussault leading the way ahead of Ryan Plante. Susice would move into third place, as Matt Hornquist battled for the top three. Ryan Plante would take the lead late and he would take the win, his third of the season. Susice’s arrival was enough to conclude the track championship.

Drivers drove through fans with a “pass the helmet” for suicide awareness with over $1,400 raised.

On Sunday, the Little R put a cap on its campaign with an awards banquet. The speedway honored track champions, as well as winners and high points in each division.

Colin Sptorico was the 2022 Senior Heavyweight Champion for Mike Barry Motors. Brayden Bills was crowned track champion in the Fisher’s Auto Repair Senior Lites. Mason Hanel was crowned Frontier Auto Wrecking Junior 3 Track Champion. Amelia Westlake was crowned SJE Shocks Junior 2 Track Champion. The Slack Kart Junior 1 Track Champion is Jenson Cook.

As the competitors received their money and trophies, the speedway management along with the Etue and Stolzenberg families presented the Chris Etue/Larry Stolzenberg Dedication to Kart Racing Award. The award was presented to Jim Mullen.

This concludes the season at the Big R. The next event on the schedule is the season-ending awards banquet, scheduled for December 3 at the Lewiston 2 Fire Hall.


Comments are closed.