Florida has stringent regulations and legislation governing all aspects of car ownership. Insurance is of course a necessity for vehicle owners who live in this state.
Understanding the ins and outs of car insurance laws for Floridians makes sense. Both to make sure you meet them and also to keep hedging costs to a minimum. So keep reading to update yourself.
There are two types of insurance that are required at a minimum if you want to own a car in Florida, such as state authorities insist that motorists have both PIP (personal injury protection) and PDL (property damage liability) with basic coverage of $10,000 each.
You will have to go even further if your car is registered as a taxi. Top that off with BIL (bodily injury liability) of at least $125,000.
Failure to comply with basic legal requirements of Florida auto insurance laws could result in your license being suspended. It will cost you $500 to have it reinstated.
Things will be much worse if you drive without insurance and are involved in an accident. Therefore, of course, you could be responsible for all costs incurred.
Finding Cheap Insurance That Covers Florida’s Minimum Requirements
The good news is that Florida auto insurance that’s up to code doesn’t have to be expensive. Indeed, thanks to comparison sites like Cheap insuranceanyone can find affordable coverage in Florida, as well as further afield.
It’s important to compare quotes from as many insurance providers as possible, as not all will offer the best deal for Florida residents, while some might have packages designed specifically for locals.
Speaking of things that make Florida unique when it comes to auto insurance, it’s worth noting that policies here tend to be more expensive than the national average.
The reason behind this has nothing to do with the driving habits of Floridians, but rather the climate. Severe weather can happen here quite often, with tropical storms causing damage to property, including cars.
As such, insurers must take this into account in the prices they charge. This factor could also influence how you store your vehicle. Even small steps can protect it from unwanted damage over the years.
Like many other states, Florida requires anyone convicted of a serious driving offense to apply for an SR22 form. To get back behind the wheel, with insurance in tow.
SR22 insurance is filed by the supplier rather than the customer. However, in order to obtain this essential document which recognizes your minimum BIL and PDL coverage. If you are in this situation, you must specify it when applying for insurance.
Failure to disclose it, or otherwise be inaccurate on your auto insurance application, will generally render it invalid. With all the coverage and liability protection it includes. No need to be dishonest to save money. As it will not help if you are involved in an accident.
Florida auto insurance laws are pretty much in line with what you’d expect to find in the rest of the country.
There are only a handful of states that do not have minimum insurance requirements. Even here, you’ll need to register as uninsured and confirm that you’ll cover the costs if you’re found at-fault in an accident.
Doing your research, comparing insurance quotes, and reading the laws that apply to Florida car owners will help you drive carefully. With complete financial protection.