According to research data from Insurance Research Councilor IRC, as much as 26.7% motorists in Florida are uninsured. Although driving without insurance is against the law in the entire state of Florida, that doesn’t stop more than one in four drivers from deciding to hit the road without insurance anyway. A motorist cannot predict with whom he may have an accident at any given time, so what can he do if this accident occurs with an uninsured driver?
What to do if you are affected
The best course of action a driver can take to provide peace of mind to uninsured motorists is to carry uninsured motorist coverage with their car insurance policy. This is optional coverage, but has great value in the event of an accident in the State of Florida.
Florida’s no-fault auto insurance laws ensure that the motorist’s own insurance covers their damages in the event of an accident. By law, every motorist must have at least $10,000 in a personal injury protection policy and at least $10,000 in property damage liability. If a motorist is injured, the $10,000 PIP coverage will help cover their injury costs, while the $10,000 Property Damage Liability can help cover damage to the vehicle and other property. However, what if the damage exceeds these coverage amounts?
If the damage exceeds $10,000 for medical expenses, then the motorist should ideally go to the other driver’s liability insurance to cover the rest if the other driver’s negligence led to the accident . If the other driver does not have insurance coverage, however, you can file a claim to cover those damages from your own uninsured motorist insurance policy. This policy compensates you for damages such as lost wages, medical expenses, permanent disability and diminished earning potential not covered by your $10,000 PIP coverage. It’s peace of mind that you won’t need to sue a negligent driver who is unable to pay accident-related expenses.
What if there is no coverage for uninsured motorists?
If you don’t have an uninsured motorist insurance policy, you may need to take legal action against the negligent driver to recover some of the damages associated with the accident. This may not be a guarantee that you receive what is due to cover accident damage, and any settlement may be given in monthly payments if that is what the uninsured driver is able to afford. .
If you are hit by an uninsured driver anywhere in Florida, one of the most critical steps you can take is to seek the assistance of a competent Florida personal injury attorney. They can walk you through your options, whether you hold uninsured motorist coverage or not, and guide you through the lawsuit process if necessary.
What happens to the uninsured motorist?
It’s important to remember that having adequate auto insurance is the law in Florida, and uninsured motorists will be penalized if caught driving without it. Penalties will likely include a suspended license and damages or fines, as well as the possibility of being deemed at-risk or “uninsurable” in the future. Penalties for license suspension, plate forfeiture and license suspension can be up to 3 years.
Florida has the highest rate of uninsured drivers in the United States and getting into an accident with an uninsured motorist is something every driver in Florida should be prepared for just in case. To learn more about handling an accident with an uninsured motorist, we are happy to help you at JusticePays.com today.
What you need to know about dealing with the adjuster after an accident